Sorabji Resource Site (SRS)
Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji in July 1988, © Clive Spencer-Bentley 1988

The Sorabji Resource Site is an extensive repository of data on the life, music, and writings of Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji (1892-1988), the English composer, pianist, writer, and critic whose vast output spanning the years 1914 to 1984 includes the celebrated four-hour Opus clavicembalisticum and the compellingly beautiful “Gulistān”—​Nocturne for Piano and ranges from the four Frammenti aforistici (1 p.) to the Messa grande sinfonica (1,001 pp.). It is also the download location of Marc-André Roberge’s Opus sorabjianum: The Life and Works of Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji (xlvi, 647 pp.).

In the words of the poet Harold Morland, Sorabji was

“A man whose very spirit is pure fire;
Who on a careful ground can raise cathedrals of majestic sound
With echoing roofs where rich mosaics glow
Who tends in sensuous gardens perfumed flowers
Rich in subtle powers
That take the mind”

Last modified: 2022-02-07
© Marc-André Roberge 2022
Sorabji Resource Site (SRS)
Faculté de musique, Université Laval, Québec

The contents of this website devoted to the English composer Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji may be freely used for documentary purposes in a research context provided that due credit is given but may not be mirrored on any other server. Links to external or third-party websites cannot be guaranteed to be, or remain, valid or persistent, and their contents cannot be guaranteed to be, or remain, accurate or appropriate.

Faculté de musique, Université LavalDHTML JavaScript Menu by