Sorabji Resource Site (SRS)

Websites Devoted to Sorabji

This page lists, in chronological order of foundation, the various websites (past and present) devoted to Sorabji and to information on, and discussion of, his life and works. It will serve to document the history of how the Web was used by a group of pioneers as a medium for the discovery of his music.

Click on a column heading to sort, then shift-click on other headings to sort on multiple columns.
Surround strings with quotation marks for specific searches. Refresh the page to revert to the initial order.

Dates Name Comments
Dates Name Comments
1996- Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji This website was created in February 1996 by Erica Schulman Kane, a violist with a Ph.D. in physics from Columbia University (1994). Though it is no longer updated since 2006 (if not before), the site has been hosted since its foundation on the server of McGill University (Montréal) thanks to Joel Wapnick, now professor emeritus of music education of the Schulich School of Music at McGill (and also a world champion of Scrabble™), who had become interested in Sorabji’s music after attending Marc-André Roberge’s lecture “Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji: Crackpot or Genius? — A Lecture on the sui generis Composer” (McGill University, Faculty of Music, 17 March 1983).
2001-10-19 Yahoo! Discussion Group (link to the Wayback Machine for announcement of closure Founded on 17 February 2001 by Erica Schulman Kane, this discussion group became active only on 6 August 2001, when Marc-André Roberge, after learning from Schulman that she had not yet advertised the site’s foundation, posted the first message and sent an invitation to join to those Sorabjians whose email addresses he knew. As of 21 October 2019, the group comprised 319 members, but there had been no activity since November 2014. In 2019 the company closed the groups and officially shut down the site on 15 December 2020; all contents were deleted and are no longer accessible.
2006-2007 Sorabji Forum The Sorabji Forum <> was founded on 21 April 2006 by Ryan Hayes (also known as “ryguillian”), from Chicago. Following technical problems on the server, the website was pulled off in early 2007 and never reactivated. It was replaced by a Sorabji Forum hosted by the Sorabji Archive (see below).
2006- Sorabji Archive, The The foundation of the Sorabji Archive’s website was announced on 26 July 2006 on MusicWeb (message no longer available) and on Music & Vision on 7 August 2006. Managed by Vasilios Tsokis (media system designer), Frazer Jarvis (lecturer in the Department of Pure Mathematics at the University of Sheffield), and John Wagstaffe, it provides detailed information on Sorabji’s works, their editions and their performances. It also features pages devoted to the works of Marc-André Hamelin and Alistair Hinton, which can also be obtained from the Archive.
2007- Sorabji Forum, The The Sorabji Forum was founded on 3 February 2007, with Alistair Hinton (Curator/Founder of the Sorabji Archive), Vasilios Tsokis, and Frazer Jarvis as administrators. It replaces Ryan Hayes’s Sorabji Forum that was briefly active in 2006. It comprises 151 members as of 19 June 2020. Being hosted by the Sorabji Archive, it can be considered the official Sorabji website. After an interruption of a few months resulting from a virus attack in January 2011, the Forum resumed its activities on 15 June.
2008- Sorabji Organ Project, The (website no longer active; <>; but see The Sorabji Organ Project – Press release (16 March 2009) on the website of Tactus Design. The foundation of the Sorabji Organ Project was announced on 22 April 2008. Its purpose is to document Kevin Bowyer’s work on the edition and performance of Sorabji’s three organ symphonies.
2009- Opus Archimagicum The website Opus Archimagicum, by the pianist Tellef Johnson, was launched on 30 November 2009. It is devoted to information on Sonata V (Opus archimagicum) (1934-35; 336 pp.) and essays on various related topics. A preliminary description of its contents, announcing recordings of excerpts, was posted on the Sorabji Forum on 6 November 2009. The website stopped responding for a long time starting January 2013 at the latest; it was online again as of October 2018.
2010-08-14 Sorabji Resource Site The Sorabji Resource Site is the creation of Marc-André Roberge, who started work on it on 17 March 2008. Its purpose is to make available in the form of lists, compilations, tables, analytical charts, links, etc., much of the material that he has gathered since he began to work in earnest on Sorabji in 1992. The website’s launch was announced on the Sorabji Forum on 11 August 2010.
2013-11-29 Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji (Facebook) This Facebook page is the work of Sean Vaughn Owen, the author of the remarkable dissertation entitled “Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji: An Oral Biography” (University of Southampton, 2006). It is described as being “dedicated to the life, music and writings of the remarkable Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji (1892-1988)”. It consists of short vignettes (paragraphs of information, quotations, thoughts, etc., by or about Sorabji), with illustrations (photographs, book covers, record jackets, sample pages from scores, etc.).
Last modified: 2021-05-21
© Marc-André Roberge 2021
Sorabji Resource Site (SRS)
Faculté de musique, Université Laval, Québec

The contents of this website devoted to the English composer Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji may be freely used for documentary purposes in a research context provided that due credit is given but may not be mirrored on any other server. Links to external or third-party websites cannot be guaranteed to be, or remain, valid or persistent, and their contents cannot be guaranteed to be, or remain, accurate or appropriate.

Faculté de musique, Université LavalDHTML JavaScript Menu by