Sorabji Resource Site (SRS)

Ranges of the Solo Vocal Parts

This page provides the range for each of Sorabji’s solo vocal parts. In other words, the choral parts in Symphony [no. 1] for Piano, Large Orchestra, Chorus, and Organ (1921-22; 300 pp.), Symphony [no. 2], “Jāmī”, for Large Orchestra, Wordless Chorus, and Baritone Solo (1942-51; 826 pp.), and Messa grande sinfonica (1955-61; 1,001 pp.) are not included; the range of the solo baritone part of Symphony [no. 2], “Jāmī”, however, is shown.

The method used for pitch notation goes from C0 to C8, as shown below (middle C is C4).

Pitch notation

Due to technical limitations, notes with flat signs sort after notes without.

A PDF file using musical notation can also be downloaded.


Click on a column heading to sort, then shift-click on other headings to sort on multiple columns.
Surround strings with quotation marks for specific searches. Refresh the page to revert to the initial order.

Title Bottom Note Top Note
Title Bottom Note Top Note
The Poplars (1915; 3 pp.) G3 B5
Chrysilla (1915; 4 pp.) B♭3 C6
Roses du soir (1915; 4 pp.) C4 D♯5
L’heure exquise (1916; 2 pp.) C4 G♯5
Vocalise pour soprano fioriturata (1916; 3 pp.) C4 C♯6
Apparition (1916; 5 pp.) C♯4 G5
Hymne à Aphrodite (1916; 5 pp.) C♯4 C6
L’étang (1917; 2 pp.) B♭3 B5
I Was Not Sorrowful—​Poem for Voice and Piano [Spleen] (between 1917 and 1919; 3 pp.) B3 B5
Le mauvais jardinier (1919; 1 p.) B3 F♯5
Trois fêtes galantes de Verlaine (ca. 1919; 11 pp.) C4 G♯5
Trois poèmes pour chant et piano (1918, 1919; 9 pp.) C4 A5
Music to “The Rider by Night” (1919; 54 pp.) C4 E♭5
Arabesque (1920; 2 pp.) C4 D5
Cinque sonetti di Michelagniolo Buonarroti (1923; 40 pp.) A2 B4
Trois poèmes du “Gulistān” de Saʿdī (1926, rev. 1930; 16 pp.) A2 G4
L’irrémédiable (1927; 8 pp.) A3 A5
Movement for Voice and Piano (1927, 1931; 9 pp.) B♭3 G♯5
Trois poèmes (1941; 13 pp.) B3 B♭5
Symphony [no. 2], “Jāmī”, for Large Orchestra, Wordless Chorus, and Baritone Solo (1942-51; 826 pp.) G2 A4
Frammento cantato (1967; 1 p.) B2 D4
Benedizione di San Francesco d’Assisi (1973; 2 pp.) E3 F♯4
Last modified: 2021-05-21
© Marc-André Roberge 2021
Sorabji Resource Site (SRS)
Faculté de musique, Université Laval, Québec

The contents of this website devoted to the English composer Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji may be freely used for documentary purposes in a research context provided that due credit is given but may not be mirrored on any other server. Links to external or third-party websites cannot be guaranteed to be, or remain, valid or persistent, and their contents cannot be guaranteed to be, or remain, accurate or appropriate.

Faculté de musique, Université LavalDHTML JavaScript Menu by