Sorabji Resource Site (SRS)

Structure of the Triple Fugue of the Variazioni e fuga triplice sopra “Dies irae”

This page reproduces, with the page number on which they appear in the manuscript, the (unedited) analytical markings found in the triple fugue (pp. 150-201) of Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji's Variazioni e fuga triplice sopra “Dies irae” per pianoforte (1923-26; 201 pp.).

Page Analytical Comments
Page Analytical Comments
150 Ia. Fuga (a). (I) (a)
153 I(b). Second exposition of Theme I. (cancrizans.)
155 I (b.II)
155 I (b.iii)
156 I b.IV
157 IC. Third exposition of Theme I (inverted.)
161 ID. 4th Exposition of Theme I. (cancrizans inversa.)
165 Fuga II. (1st Exposition of Theme II.)
169 II B (i) [Second Exposition of Theme II (cancrizans)]
172 II C. (i) Third Exposition of Subject II. (inverse.)
176 II D. Theme II. 4th exposition (cancrizans inversa.)
180 Subject III. 1st exposition: recto:
184 III. B (i) Subject III. second exposition, Cancrizans.
184 Third Exposition of Subject III (Inversus.)
191 III. D. Fourth exposition of the third theme. (cancrizans inversus)


Last modified: 2024-03-05
© Marc-André Roberge 2024
Sorabji Resource Site (SRS)
Faculté de musique, Université Laval, Québec

The contents of this website dedicated to the English composer Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji may be freely used for documentary purposes in a research context, provided that due credit is given, but may not be mirrored on any other server. Links to external or third-party websites are not guaranteed to be or remain valid or persistent and their content is not guaranteed to be or remain accurate or appropriate.

Faculté de musique, Université LavalDHTML JavaScript Menu by