Sorabji Resource Site (SRS)

Layout of “Quasi fuga” from Symphonia claviensis

This page provides a sectional layout of the “Quasi fuga” (pp. 228-58) that forms section VI (in the Terza parte) of Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji’s Sixth Symphony for Piano (Symphonia claviensis) (1975-76; 270 pp.). Page references are to Jonathan Powell’s edition (virtually identical to the manuscript).

Section Tempo Pages Comments
Section Tempo Pages Comments
Quasi fuga a Abbastanza animato: secco 228-30 Simple, rather sparse texture.
Interludio A Vivace e leggiero: staccato sempre 230-31 Study in double notes and .
Quasi fuga b Seccamente animato 232-33 Mostly semiquavers.
Interludio B Molto animato 234-35 Expansive, virtuoso treatment.
Quasi fuga c Capricciosamente 236-39 Mostly semiquavers; ends “Grandioso”.
Interludio C Tranquillo e soave 240-43 In nocturne style, with rather sparse texture.
Quasi fuga d Moderato in tempo 243-47 Quavers throughout; ends climactically.
Interludio D Vivace e abbastanza leggiero 248-49 Semiquavers throughout. Study in broken octaves (link to the subject of the previous fugue).
Quasi fuga e Lento abbastanza 250-58 Emphasizes long note values (mostly breves, semibreves, and crotchets, with more animation as the fugue nears its end); the “Quasi stretto” begins on p. 256.
Last modified: 2024-03-05
© Marc-André Roberge 2024
Sorabji Resource Site (SRS)
Faculté de musique, Université Laval, Québec

The contents of this website dedicated to the English composer Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji may be freely used for documentary purposes in a research context, provided that due credit is given, but may not be mirrored on any other server. Links to external or third-party websites are not guaranteed to be or remain valid or persistent and their content is not guaranteed to be or remain accurate or appropriate.

Faculté de musique, Université LavalDHTML JavaScript Menu by